Bengals News

NFL: 2013 Hall of Fame Class Announced!


The class of 2013 Hall of fame inductees was recently announced by the national writers.

Offensive lineman Larry Allen, receiver Cris Carter, defensive tackle Curley Culp, tackle Jonathan Ogden, coach Bill Parcells, linebacker Dave Robinson and defensive tackle Warren Sapp were the final seven final selections.

Larry Allen played every position on the offensive line except for center and was a first team All-Pro for seven straight seasons.

Cris Carter played a total of sixteen seasons, and was just the second player in NFL history to record 1,000 receptions. He also caught 130 touchdown passes.

Curley Culp was selected to six Pro Bowls in his career, and started at tackle in Kansas City’s Super Bowl win over Vikings in 1970. Besides the Lions, he played with the Hoston Oilers and Detroit Lions.

Jonathan Ogden was the first drafted member of the expansion Ravens, and went to eleven Pro Bowls in his career. He also led Baltimore to a Super Bowl.

Bill Parcells is a two-time Super Bowl winner, and is currently the only coach in history to take four different teams to the postseason.

Dave Robinson played with the Green Bay Packers of the 1960’s, starting at tackle in Vince Lombardi’s victories in the first two Super Bowls.

Warren Sapp made it into the Hall of Fame the first year he was on the ballot. He played thirteen seasons with the Oakland Raiders and Tampa Bay Buccaneers. He accumulated 96.5 sacks in that stretch as an interior lineman. He was also the 1999 NFL Defensive Player of the Year.

Want more Bengals news? Like Stripe Hype on Facebook, or grab our RSS feed.

Follow @StripeHype