Bengals News

Pro Football Hall of Fame semifinalists announced


Aug 2, 2013; Canton, OH, USA; 2013 Pro Football Inductees (from left)

Larry Allen


Cris Carter


Dave Robinson


Jonathan Ogden

, Bill Parcells,

Curley Culp


Warren Sapp

during the 2013 Pro Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement at Fawcett Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Andrew Weber-USA TODAY Sports

The semifinalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2014 were announced Wednesday, as the field of 126 nominees was cut down to just 25 names. That group of semifinalists will be cut to 15 in January.

The Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2014 then will be picked on Feb. 1 from the list of 15 modern-era finalists plus the two senior nominees (punter Ray Guy and defensive end Claude Humphrey, who were selected in August by the Hall of Fame’s Senior Selection Committee).

Here’s the list of 25 semifinalists

Morten Andersen

Steve Atwater

Jerome Bettis

Derrick Brooks

Tim Brown

Don Coryell

Roger Craig

Terrell Davis

Edward DeBartolo, Jr.

Tony Dungy

Kevin Greene

Charles Haley

Marvin Harrison

Joe Jacoby

Jimmy Johnson

Walter Jones

John Lynch

Karl Mecklenburg

Andre Reed

Will Shields

Michael Strahan

Paul Tagliabue

Aeneas Williams

Steve Wisniewski

George Young

Four first-year eligible candidates – linebacker Derrick Brooks, coach Tony Dungy, wide receiver Marvin Harrison, and tackle Walter Jones – are among the 25 semifinalists.

Want more Bengals news? Like Stripe Hype on Facebook, or grab our RSS feed.

Follow @StripeHype

Follow @UK_Fans