NFL Midseason Awards

1 of 2

Nov 8, 2015; Foxborough, MA, USA; New England Patriots quarterback Tom Brady (12) makes an adjustment at the line of scrimmage during the second quarter against the Washington Redskins at Gillette Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Greg M. Cooper-USA TODAY Sports

I had to double-take the other day when I went to and saw references to who’s leading in votes for the Pro Bowl. Voting for the Pro Bowl in November when only half the games have taken place seems odd to me. Last year at this time, players like Odell Beckham and Jeremy Hill were just getting their engines fired up for an incredible statistical second half of the season. Beckham ended up making the Pro Bowl, while Hill did not. So it only makes sense to see who is leading the race for awards including MVP, Offensive Player of the Year, Defensive player of the Year and Comeback Player of the Year.

Most Valuable Player

Tom Brady, New England Patriots 

It pains me to give Brady the award, but anyone who thinks that he isn’t the best player in the National Football League is lying to themselves. Brady has only thrown two interceptions this year, and one of those two was a pass that was dropped by his receiver and ended up in an opposing defender’s hands. The Patriots have scored in all but one quarter of the 2015 season, a stat that even the biggest Patriot hater has to marvel at. At 37 years old, Tom Brady looks better then ever and he has his team looking almost unbeatable.

In the race: Andy Dalton, Aaron Rodgers, Cam Newton, Carson Palmer

Offensive Player of the Year

Julio Jones, Atlanta Falcons

Jones is already over 1,000 yards receiving for the season and, given that he keeps playing at his current trajectory, is on pace to pose a threat to Calvin Johnson‘s single-season yardage record. Jones, with 1,029 yards receiving through nine games, only needs 971 yards in his next seven games to hit 2,000 yards receiving on the season. However, that’s easier said than done. Regardless, Julio commands the attention of opposing defenses, making plays and opening up space for his teammates to work. Julio Jones more than likely won’t be the first receiver in history to top 2,000 yards, but his season to this point has been extremely impressive.

In the race: Devonta Freeman, Antonio Brown, Adrian Peterson