Cincinnati Bengals: All-time passing leaders in franchise history

Quarterback Joe Burrow #9 of the Cincinnati Bengals (Photo by Andy Lyons/Getty Images)
Quarterback Joe Burrow #9 of the Cincinnati Bengals (Photo by Andy Lyons/Getty Images) /
13 of 15

Cincinnati Bengals All-Time Passing Leaders – No. 3: Boomer Esiason (27,149)

Bengals Quarterback from 1984-1997

Boomer Esiason’s name has already been mentioned a few times as we’ve worked our way up this list and now we finally come to his entry. He’s currently third all-time in passing yards for the Bengals.

The second-round pick out of Maryland was the first quarterback taken in the 1984 NFL Draft and looking back, it’s wild to think that he was still there for the taking at pick No. 38. Cincinnati was happy to take him even though they still had Ken Anderson on their roster.

He rotated with Anderson and Tuck Schonert for the starting job as a rookie but from then on, it was his job to lose. Esiason’s first full year as a starter came in 1986 when he threw for 3,959 yards, 24 touchdowns, and 17 interceptions, enough to land him a trip to the Pro Bowl.

Two years later, Esiason had the best year of his Bengals career, tossing for 3,572 yards, 28 touchdowns, and 14 picks, which earned him league MVP honors. This was the last time a Bengal has won the award and it was well-deserved for Esiason.

One of the greatest teams in Bengals history were led by Esiason and it was cool when he re-signed with the team in 1997 to give it one last shot. After 10 seasons with the team that drafted him, Esiason finished his career with 27,149 yards, 187 touchdowns, and 131 interceptions. His numbers still are good enough to keep him in the top three all-time.